Valentine’s Day


Yes, I’m referring to both the day and the movie.

Valentine’s Day, until now, has actually held no real meaning to me. Sure, we get group candy and a few rare adolscent couples pass around chocolate and tiny  candy hearts that says things like, “Will you be my valentine?”

Pathetic.

Valentine’s Day, in various areas of Korea, Japan, and perhaps China, is normally regarded as a huge day for a man’s pride. Girls dominate this day. They are the ones who decide the rise and fall of a man’s reputation in the romantic sense. Why else would you have numerous manga/drama/manhwa scenes that produce gut-wrenching scenes that show {insert good-looking male character here} opening his locker to find numerous candies and love letters fall out?

Yeah. As I said, pathetic.

So it was with great surprise that I found people regarding each other with a shyer attitude than usual. One of my best friends (yes, I have friends) decided that her hormones were fully awake and attracted to a particularily uninteresting specimen. And gave him candy.

This is actually no business of mine. But today, I was supposed to see a movie. Percy Jackson and the Olympians, if you must know. I enjoyed the book, and after watching the trailer, decided it would be worth paying nine dollars to stare up at a giant screen.

Or, so I thought.

The tickets were all sold out for my preferred time. The next showing was extremely late. So it was to my disgust that my friends, who had come along with me, asked for tickets to Valentine’s Day.

Which were not sold out.

I don’t enjoy watching people jam their lips together. Give me horror, give me thriller, give me blood and guts, but don’t drag me off to a movie that’s based on solid make-out scenes. It was enough with Taylor Swift’s horrible acting, but…

I really wish I hadn’t eaten all that popcorn.

So, my thoughts on the day and the movie?

It turned out to be unusually interesting. I don’t think I necessarily enjoyed the movie, and am still regretting paying nine dollars, but it had a good way with its humor. Thank the Lord Taylor Swift didn’t have a bigger part.

Valentine’s Day, in general, has had no influence on me, nor ever grabbed my attention. But with a pen pal in Korea who drills me on facts about “American” Valentine’s Day, it has, for once, taken up my interest.

I guess it’s not so bad, if I get my chocolate.

~Nemphy

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “Valentine’s Day

  1. Good afternoon, Happy Valentines Day!

Leave a Reply

